Tag Archive for: Bill Crider Prize for Short Fiction

The Bill Crider Prize for Short Fiction

by Paula Gail Benson
Portions of this post
appeared in the November 19, 2019, post for Writers
Who Kill
. However, this great news deserves to be shared more than once!

I was delighted to be asked by Carol Puckett and Kendel Lynn to be the contest
coordinator for the Bill Crider Prize for Short Fiction, debuting this year at
the Dallas Bouchercon. The contest honored the memory of revered Texas writer
and reviewer Bill Crider. Open to any writer in the world, stories had to be
between 3,500 and 5,000 words and deal with the theme “Deep in the Heart.”
Jim Jackson, who was experienced working on anthologies, agreed to
be the submissions coordinator, without knowing what that task might entail.
Sixty-three stories were blindly submitted. Thirty-seven advanced to the second
round and eleven were selected as finalists for the following prizes:
·         First Place:      $1000
·         Second Place:  $750
·         Third Place:     $500
·         Bill Crider Memorial
Scholarship:      Registration to Bouchercon 2020
We were so fortunate to have excellent short story writers and
editors to agree to judge the preliminary rounds. They were: Carla Coupe, Kaye
George, Barb Goffman, Debra H. Goldstein, Tara Laskowski, Robert Mangeot, Karen
McCullough, Warren Moore, Terrie Moran, and Beth Terrell. I cannot thank these folks
enough for taking on the difficult task of determining which stories would go
Janet Hutchings, editor of Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine,
and Linda Landrigan, editor of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine,
graciously agreed to serve as judges for the final round.
The eleven finalists were:
“Long Overdue” by Jaap Boekestein
“Trust Me” by Douglas Dorow
“Mi Corazón, Sin Cartero, Sin Timbre de las Puerta (My
Heart, Sans Postman, Sans Doorbell)” by Dixon Hill
“Resuscitation” by Ann Kellett
“Cahoots” by C.C. Guthrie
“The Texas Justice Project” by James L’Etoile
“Lambs and Wolves” by Robert Lopresti
“Death and Texas” by Lissa Marie Redmond
“Dead Armadillos Don’t Dance” by Kari Wainwright
“The Last Man in Lafarge” by Joseph S. Walker
“Armadillo by Morning” by Stacy Woodson
And, the top four prizes were awarded to:
·         First Place:     
Joseph S. Walker
·         Second Place:  Jaap Boekestein
·         Third Place:     Douglas
·         Bill Crider Memorial
Scholarship:      Dixon Hill
We were delighted to have three of the four prize winners (Joseph
S. Walker, Douglas Dorow, and Dixon Hill) at the ceremony hosted by Hank
Phillippi Ryan. In addition, a number of the participants and judges attended
and we took a “class” photo.

Although publication was not part of the prize for this contest, I
firmly believe you’ll be seeing these stories and their authors’ names in
print. So, be watching for them.
Following Bouchercon, Joseph S. Walker attended New England Crime
Bake, where he was honored with the Al Blanchard award. Way to go, Joe!

Many thanks to all who
participated as entrants, judges, and planners of this contest. I hope it might
be a tradition that continues to other Bouchercons.

Calling All Short Story Writers: Check Out Bouchercon’s New Bill Crider Prize!

by Paula Gail Benson
I’m incredibly proud that Carol Puckett and Kendel
Lynn of the Bouchercon Dallas committee asked me to help with the inaugural Bill
Crider Prize for Short Fiction that will be awarded by Hank Phillippi Ryan at
Bouchercon in Dallas this October. This contest will recognize excellence for
short story writing with significant monetary and scholarship prizes. And, the
final round will be judged by Janet Hutchings (editor of Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine) and Linda Landrigan (editor of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine)!
Please see the information below and consider
entering. It’s a great way to remember a respected member of the mystery
community while giving a marvelous opportunity to talented short story writers.
Bill Crider Prize for Short
Debuting at the 50th Anniversary of Bouchercon, Carol Puckett and
the 2019 Bouchercon Dallas committee launched the Bill Crider Prize for Short
Fiction to celebrate this treasured literary form, both the short story and the
widely-admired mystery author and reviewer, Bill Crider. Designed to encourage
writers from all over the world, these distinguished prizes award stories with
fascinating characters and twisty plots, all in the mystery genre.
  • First Prize:
  • Second Prize:
  • Third Prize:
  • Bill Crider
    Memorial Scholarship: Registration to Bouchercon 2020
  • Longlist
    • An
      anonymous judging panel of published authors will select an initial round
      of finalists (no public announcements will be made).
  • Shortlist
    • A
      second anonymous judging panel of published authors will select the
      shortlist finalists (no public announcements will be made).
  • Winners
    • Janet
      Hutchings, editor of Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, and Linda
      Landrigan, editor of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, will
      choose the winners from the shortlisted writers.
    • Please
      note that no automatic publication in either EQMM or AHMM is attached to
      winning or being a finalist in this contest. All contestants (whether
      they make judges cuts or not) are welcome to submit to either
      magazine—but not both at the same time.
    • Once
      the final four writers have been chosen, all shortlisted authors will be
      notified on or near October 1.
    • Bouchercon
      Dallas Guest of Honor, Hank Phillippi Ryan,
      will recognize the shortlisted authors and award the top prizes during
      Bouchercon 2019 in Dallas, Texas.
All decisions are final and
may not be contested.
  • Deadline: Mar 1,
  • Open to all
    writers regardless of Bouchercon registration or residency
  • Stories must be
    an original work, not previously published, submitted anonymously (as
    provided in these rules), and without identifiable series characters
  • Theme: Deep in
    the Heart (relating to Texas, whether locale, characters, history, etc.)
    with an element of mystery or crime
  • One submission
    per person
  • Manuscript
    • Word
      count: 3,500 – 5000 words
    • Format:
      Standard font Times New Roman at 12 pt size; no fancy fonts
    • Denote
      scene breaks with asterisks: ***
    • Double-space
      with one-inch margins on all sides
  • Email as an
    attached Word doc to: subs.deepintheheart@gmail.com
    • Subject
    • Contact
      info (body of email only, not in Word doc):
      • Name:
      • Pen
        Name: If applicable
      • Mailing
      • Phone
      • Email
      • Story
      • Word
  • No identifying
    information anywhere in the story or document
  • Entrants retain
    full copyright of her/his work with the stipulation it cannot be published
    until Bouchercon Dallas ends on Nov 3, 2019.
  • No automatic
    publication in either EQMM or AHMM is attached to winning or being a
    finalist in this contest. All contestants (whether they make judges cuts
    or not) are welcome to submit to either magazine—but not both at the same
  • There is no
    entry fee, nor will any monies be paid for stories other than the four
    prizes stated.
  • Bouchercon
    Dallas LOC Chair: Carol Puckett
  • Contest
    Coordinator: Paula Gail Benson
  • Submissions
    Coordinator: James M. Jackson
  • Prize
    Ceremony Host: Hank Phillippi Ryan